spokesperson's welcome

Welcome to STAR site!

The STAR Collaboration is composed of 58 institutions from 13 countries, with a total of over 500 collaborators. We are proud of having over 170 Ph.D. students graduate from our program, and for publishing over 160 peer-reviewed scientific papers. We have maintained a similar pace in our scientific productivity and training of the next generation of young scientists for the last 15 years.

RHIC has been a discovery machine with STAR at center stage. With two new major upgrades, the Heavy-flavor Tracker (HFT) and the Muon Telescope Detector (MTD), we have positioned ourselves well for leading the field in several major scientific programs. To continue our excellent track record on science, we, the members of the STAR Collaboration, have recently produced a road map for our future in the form of our decadal plan, eSTAR Letter of Intent, Beam Energy Scan Whitepaper and are in the process of producing pp/pA document. I am fully committed to our priorities based on the scientific pillars of studying QGP properties, quantifying nucleon spin structure, searching for critical point in QCD phase diagram and exploring the high-density gluon field in nuclei.

The STAR Collaboration is organized and governed by the STAR Council. The Council consists of one individual member from each member institution who will represent the individual members from that institution. I am the representative of the Collaboration in scientific, technical, and managerial concerns, and provide continued leadership of the Collaboration. I have assembled a strong and diverse management team to work broadly within and beyond STAR to achieve our goals.

Information related to your possible visits and user required trainings for the facility is available online. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions about STAR experiment at RHIC!


Zhangbu Xu

Brookhaven National Laboratory
Building 510a, room 1-168
1-631-344-3955 (o)
Dated: April 22, 2014

Former Spokespersons

2008 - 2014
Nu Xu
Nuclear Science Division
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

2002 - 2008
Tim Hallman
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Now at:
Associate Director of Science for Nuclear Physics at DOE

1991 - 2002
John Harris
Yale University (1996 --)
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (1991 - 1996)

Return to the STAR home page

webmaster Last modified: Jul 23 2017 12:50.
privacy & security